Life beyond Nursing School

Six years ago I saw the video that I can truly say ignited a spark in my heart, at the time I did not quite know how it was going to impact my career choice, or how it would even be remotely related to my life  beyond those four minutes. After I had seen it, I knew that I was going to somehow lend my skills, and lend whatever part of me I could to help those around me. Not because of me but because I knew I was loved deeply and radically by The Creator, and because of that I too needed to pour out that love to others.

Now with nursing as my chosen career I want to take that beyond the hospital, and out to the field where there are people in dire need of medical care. My heart has fallen love with strange places, with new people, and with the idea that being a nurse would be helpful in a foreign country. I don’t quite know how that is going to look like yet, whether it will be a medical missionary, working overseas with medical agency, or working critical care here at home in the hospital, and taking trips overseas. I do know that God has placed that desire and my heart and He will ultimately find a way to show me the path. I don’t think that we will ever fully grasp the depth of God’s mysterious plan for our lives and sometimes thats the beauty of it.

 “but we speak God’s wisdom in a mystery, the hidden wisdom which God predestined before the ages to our glory” 1 Corinthians 2:7

“…perhaps then it’s fair to say that that when we ignore the prostituted child, that we actually lend our hand to their abuse. That when we ignore the widow and the orphan in their distress, that we actually add to their pain. When we ignore the slave who remains captive, then it’s us who’s entrapping them. That when we forget the refugee, then it’s us who’s displacing them. That when we choose not to help the poor and the needy, that we actually rob them. Perhaps the only fair thing to say is that when we forsake the lives of others, we actually forsake our own.”

– Hillsong I- Heart- Revolution

Leave a Reply

