Why I, a Christian Support Israel

I don’t usually get in to politics, because one, politics can be so dry, biased, confusing, and they just downright make me angry sometimes. I do feel however, that due to the recent circumstances of the world affairs it is important to keep in mind what is going on in the world, and specially as a Christian, to something that is “religiously” significant; that being the current Israeli-Palestinian conflict. Now, I am not one for the psychotic “end-of-times” stuff, or ANY of the Westoboro Baptist American none-sense, but being that I believe in The Bible what is going on the world should be personally significant, one because if I believe in the bible as truth, then the “God’s people” as mentioned in the bible, should be important to my beliefs as a whole. Two, it is shocking (at least to me) how misinformed or careless and  indifferent current “christians” are towards the Israeli-Palestenian conflict.

And let’s be honest? If a five year old came along asking me to explain the situation, I would probably have trouble explaining. So why should we care? Why should I a suburban Mexican give a hoot about what’s going on the middle east? My simple answer, because I believe in God, and because I believe the bible to be truth. That in itself is more than enough to support Israel, and be diligent enough to find out for myself the truth behind the media outlets, behind CNN, BBC, and other media. Of course, we all know that media can be biased, and because of the fact one should be more proactive to read multiple sources before making judgements or picking side, that being of course, if one cares enough about what’s going on in the world outside of America-home-of-the-free.

The bible tells us this:

Genesis 12:3 I will bless those who bless you, and him who dishonors you I will curse, and in you all the families of the earth shall be blessed.”ESV

” Timothy 5:8 But if anyone does not provide for his relatives, and especially for members of his household, he has denied the faith and is worse than an unbeliever.”

And who are our relatives, let’s be figurative here, the Israelites, also keeping in mind that many parts of the bible are directly targeted to believers NOT unbelievers, we as “christians” have a duty in our “religion.” Then there’s The Great Commission, but I wont get into that, thats another post for another day.

Simply put, here’s whats going on the middle east, these are perhaps the most helpful videos I have seen explaining the situation.

So, what is the purpose of this post? I feel that as a Christian one should at least be informed with the current state of “God’s people,” as well as pray. That is the least that we can do, pray for Israel, and pray for peace, not only there, but peace in the middle east. The conflict with Israel is far more than political, it is in my opinion the remnants of a long political and religious battle.

Leave a Reply

